My Native Heart

Standard

CLOSE TO THE LAND

As a child growing up between Virginia and North Carolina, I was often told of our Native American ancestry on my mother’s (Ponds) side of the family. Interestingly enough, I recently found out that I may also have similar roots on my father’s (Elks) side.  For the most part, the evidence of my cultural heritage came from my mother’s account, my good fortune to inherit a skin-type which was tolerate of the sun, and my almond-shaped brown eyes – a trait I share with many of my maternal cousins.  Beyond these simple truths, the link to my past has been a bit of a mystery to me.

Over the years, I have often wondered why I can never be satisfied with benign, homogenous experiences or life.  Just as a plant leans toward the sun, I lean towards people and experiences that are more exotic…

View original post 283 more words

Leave a Reply

